Provost English & Technology Blog

My P.E.T Project

Week 3 Blog – GAME Plan Progress

Posted by mprovost on November 18, 2010


As part of last week’s blog, I introduced my goals related to my GAME plan; each goal was directly related to increasing my effectiveness as an educator, and both related to the further integration of technology into my teaching practice and instruction. My first goal was to investigate options for increasing parent communication via Web 2.0 tools; my second to integrate a Moodle into my classroom instruction. Following goal setting, it is necessary to take action towards those goals and then monitor any progress made toward those goals (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009).

Regarding setting up parent communication, I made progress by reviewing past attempts I’ve made towards integrating a useful blog prior to finding Ning. My investigation led to edublogs and my attempt a few years ago; what led me to abandon the platform was speed and availability of widget options. I spent time last week poking around and trying to assess the present speed…after, of course, figuring out my password!

On my Moodle goal, I set up an appointment with the technology integrator who offers instruction, but limitations of time and space make this a bit of a challenge; the integrator works at the high school, I at the middle school. Since I’m more of an immediate gratification type of personality, I decided to also find my own way around Moodle; unfortunately, until the integrator sets me up a “class”, I cannot actually play. I began to research www.livebinders.com (Live Binders, 2010) to uncover teacher and expert offerings related to using and integrating Moodle into the classroom. I’ve selected quite a few binders and now need to invest time in reviewing them. I must be mindful of evaluating web resources and assessing factors such as the authors’ credentials, organizational affiliations and if the information “adequately” meets my needs (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009, p 79).

As educator Vicki Davis suggests, using fifteen minutes 2-3 times per week towards exploring and accomplishing technology goals is a valuable professional development activity (Laureate Education, 2010). In my case, it is the time dedicated to creatively thinking about how to tackle my goals; like students, self-direction in regard to making choices and self-monitoring is a valuable part of the problem solving process (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009). This week, I realized that in order to find success, I not only need to commit to my goals, but I need to reach out to others for support; I am, at times, at the mercy of their schedules and commitments. The most valuable resource I have going for me is the ability to be a creative thinker; it is necessary to be at ease with unpredictable obstacles, outcomes and uncertainty (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009).

References:

Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology Integration for Meaningful Classroom Use: A Standards-Based Approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer). (2010a). Cennamo, K. (Speaker). Program 2: Promoting self directed learning with technology. [DVD]. Integrating technology across the content areas. Baltimore, MD.

Live Binders, Inc. (2010). http://www.livebinders.com

2 Responses to “Week 3 Blog – GAME Plan Progress”

  1. It sounds as though you and I have some similar questions since I was considering starting up a blog also. My only blog at the moment is based in edublogs and it sounds like you found it lacking. My district has recently adopted Moodle, but we haven’t had much training with it. You have me wondering if I should be considering Moodle for my own classroom blogging purposes. I have been looking at a few options, but haven’t had a chance to really play with them. As soon as I have a little more experience to report, I’ll be happy to share my findings regarding class blog resources. I will also follow with interest your experience with moodle.

  2. Dustin Lewis said

    I think setting an appointment with your technology integrator is a great first step in meeting your goal. Learning new technology is tough to conquer on your own and sometimes seeking help is the best option. I understand how time constraints can place a burden on our plans to learn new pieces of technology, but when you break it down to 15 minute increments 3 days a week, it seems much more manageable. I will have to remember that for when I become stressed out. I also agree with you that sometimes the best way to learn new websites is to simply log on and play with the information until it becomes more clear.

    Keep up the great work you seem to be completing with your kids. I look forward to your other posting about this subject.

Leave a Reply

 
