Provost English & Technology Blog

My P.E.T Project

Evaluating my GAME Plan Progress – Week 5

Posted by mprovost on November 29, 2010

Admittedly, this past week did not amount to any progress on my GAME plan. Last week I had two obstacles in my way – the Thanksgiving break and a family emergency on Monday that took me out of school and knocked me off track for more than a few days. That being said, what I have come to realize about technology goals is that at any point in your passing day, you can spend time making even a small amount of progress. For example, while in the hospital with my dad last week, I had the opportunity to read more than enough news and mindlessly surf the internet. Though my mind was not quite focused on coursework, it was inevitable that one click on a news link set in motion an avalanche of inquiry and investigation. Technology is a part of our daily lives and even on the worst of days, my email gets checked, the headlines get read off my RSS feed, and chances are I’ll update my Facebook and Twitter from my phone. In fact, as I went through my week, my primary form of communication was a constant flurry of text blasts to multiple users; every update was immediately sent to family all over the country. And, as my father recovered from his surgery, I set my laptop in his hospital room so he could Skype with my uncle in Florida who wanted to see, chat with, and rest assured his brother was healing.
This past week solidified my appreciation of technology and served as a reminder that the integration of technology goals and skills is a vital part of not only our 21st century classrooms, but our normal, daily existence; as true as this is for us, this is even more a truth for our students. In my opinion, as educators, we must operate in a constant state of technology investigation and integration.

Regarding my GAME plan, I now realize that it centers around one focal point – communication. Just as my family appreciated my text blasts, so might my parents and students. As I get back on track looking at online platforms for assignments, blogging and communication, I need to identify my main purpose. If a quick update on homework or classwork is what parents want/need, what is the option for text blasts as a primary communication tool? I know there are still many families without computers, but I’m guessing there is a greater percentage of parents with texting capabilities. This week, I will use last week’s experiences to push my investigation into this new direction.


In closing, I’m including these photos from over the weekend…note that while in the hospital, my very iPad-addicted 4-year old had a chance to introduce the technology to his 92-year old great grandfather. Needless to say, my grandfather was overwhelmed, amazed, impressed and mystified at the iPad’s capabilities. Though I wasn’t actually focused on my studies, for me, these photos captured the constant state of technology exposure and learning that exists in my everyday world…progress made? , yes indeed.

4 Responses to “Evaluating my GAME Plan Progress – Week 5”

  1. Alisha Lieber said

    Melissa,

    It sounds like you were very busy over break and I am sorry that it had to include surgery. That is not fun for anyone. I love the way that you expressed your need for technology and how much you used it. I think that it would be interesting to log how many type of technology I use in a day. It has become so common for me to use these different types of technology and I don’t realize how dependent I am of them. You sound like you are on the right path with finding what you need to do with your GAME plan. Communication is a great thing to consider. Good luck with your GAME plan’s revisions.

  2. Krista said

    Hi Melissa

    I wasn’t able to accomplish much with my GAME plan, either, but you’re right about technology being very much a part of our daily lives. I love the picture of the different generations (old/young) being connected by technology that you posted. Technology truly is amazing! Your suggestion of using texting to stay in touch with parents is an interesting idea. I have many parents that are not connected to the Internet but do have a cell phone. I wonder how many parents have the texting option? I also wonder if there’s a way to store the messages sent back and forth? I save my email correspondences in a folder on my computer; it would be nice to have this option with the texting. Part of being a self-directed learner is pursuing “more information about an intriguing topic” (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009), such as texting parents, and I think your ideas make a good example of this. Good luck working on your plan this coming week and when you learn information about the texting, pass it along!

    Krista

    Reference

    Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom

    use: A standards-based approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.).

    Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

  3. Dustin Lewis said

    I am sorry to hear about your father having surgery, but I love what you said about how technology is used in our everyday lives and how it has become a vital function of our society. I think the idea of using text to communicate with parents is a great idea. You are right in assuming that not everybody has the affordability for Internet connection but most have availabitiy of text (On a side note I always find this statistic amazing because you think Internet capability is more important than a cell phone but I digress). I do have a questiona about a “text blast” and forgive me if I am being ignorant, but I had no idea we had the ability to text to multiple people. I have sent many texts to a single person before, but I have never noticed the capability to send texts to multiple people. I actually just stopped typing and grabbed my wife’s blackberry and I was able to place many people in the “to” section. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. Perhaps it would not be unrealistic to program parent’s cell phones into my phone and send out a text message to multiple people as well. Or at the very least, instead of leaving messages on answering machines, perhaps I could text information to parents with whatever information I have for them.

    Anyway, keep up the great work with your students. Your dedication to integrating technology into your classroom really shows.

    • mprovost said

      Dustin & Krista –

      Dustin,
      I laughed while reading your post and am happy that technology integration via text blasting is now in your personal toolbox 😉 I know that in my phone I can create groups (aka “My Friday After School Coffee Group”) and can just select the group to send it out even faster!

      and to Krista as well –
      I’m still looking at online services that utilize texting; I know when my own children are part of certain sports programs, there are auto-generated text blasts that remind of practices and games. The coaches set it up online and the blast goes out as a reminder…THIS I need for my students and parents! If they opt to sign up, then they are agreeing to incur any text charges they may receive; I think there are many who would appreciate this communication. If/when I find something I like, I’ll share it!

      Best,
      Melissa

Leave a Reply

 
