Provost English & Technology Blog

My P.E.T Project

Week 7 – Using the GAME Plan Process with Students

Posted by mprovost on December 12, 2010

While reviewing the NETS-S , I am both relieved and a bit confounded.  Specifically, I am feeling very confident that through the integration of technology into my lessons, I am exposing my students to many of the components; however, I worry that  I am not being as intentional as I need to be in order for my students to recognize the value of their learning and the associated standards.  That being noted, I feel that the GAME plan model we have learned about and followed throughout this course may hold the key to bridging the gap between exposure and explicit instruction.

There are many reasons that implementing the GAME plan model in my curriculum will benefit student learning.  For one, having students formulate a GAME plan based on the NETS-S means exposing them to the standards that exist and drive technology instruction.  It is important for my students to realize there is a foundation for all the teaching and learning that goes into each lesson.  Having students review these goals, as they create their GAME plan, may help them to recognize some of the implicit lessons built into our daily activities.  For example, if I am discussing digital citizenship, it is not simply because I want to ensure they cite their research, but because I am looking for them to “understand human, cultural, and societal issues related to technology and practice legal and ethical behavior” (International Society for Technology Education, 2007).

Another way that using the GAME plan process would help develop proficiency in the NETS-S is by increasing their metacognitive functions; I want my students to learn how to be self-directed learners who are aware of how they “think about thinking” (Cennamo, Ertmer & Ross, 2009, p 3).  According to our text, self-directed learners engage in planning, monitoring and evaluation of their learning activities (2009); having students review the NETS-S and create select goals for a GAME plan will help them to develop the critical thinking skills associated with this learning strategy.  As they develop and track goals, they will be able to both make progress on their NETS-S, but also strengthen their overall skills as learners.

Using the GAME plan process and having my students review standards, select goals and track monitor their learning will solidify a major component of my language arts classroom – the idea of learning as a process.  Students are constantly reminded of the processes involved in learning – from reading goals and using strategies to the writing process, I want my students to be both aware and reflective.  Throughout this course I have been increasingly impressed with how the GAME plan model simplifies the process of goal setting, taking action, monitoring, and evaluating (Cennamo et al, 2009).  By implementing  GAME plans in all areas of learning, my students will be able to track their accomplishments and the challenges they will carry forward into grade eight.

Overall, utilizing GAME plans will allow my students to track their progress on NETS-S while also developing stronger skills as reflective learners.  Knowing my students are tracking and following goals will remind me to be intentional when bridging the gap between exposure and explicit instruction of technology standards.

References:

Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology Integration for Meaningful Classroom Use: A Standards-Based Approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

ISTE. (2007). The ISTE NETS and performance indicators for students (NETS-S). Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/standards/nets-for-students/nets-student-standards-2007.aspx

4 Responses to “Week 7 – Using the GAME Plan Process with Students”

  1. Melissa,

    After reading your post I am struck by the fact that you are the first to suggest directly involving the students in planning the direction of their GAME plan. It occurs to me that perhaps our GAME plan should always be structured around student input. I recently decided my GAME plan had to prioritize making better use of my classroom website. Part of the reason that this gets priority is that my students have been asking me to do just that. I feel a sense of justification even in defeat (my original GAME plan would have begun with more ambition) since I think students would be as excited about my website upgrades as they would about a class blog activity. Sometimes I wonder if we teachers don’t over cook our plans with all the books and experts when our students could probably point us in the right direction more often than not.

  2. Connie said

    Melissa,

    I really like how you stated that the GAME plan process is a way to help students understand the standards they are learning. All to often we teach the standards, set up beautiful lessons, and make the connections in our OWN heads, but that important component goes unnoticed by the students. Having them create their own GAME plan and monitoring then evaluating it makes the standards tangible! Not only are students learning, but they will be learning ABOUT learning and seeing their opwn personal growth. Maybe you can have them create a blog and mirror what we have been doing here! Technology integration of any form will only make the lessons more engaging!

    Connie

  3. Randy Van said

    Melissa,

    I think you raise an interesting point in your first paragraph. The majority of us teachers are integrating technology in a variety of ways into our daily lessons. However, the question does become: are the students learning the value of what we are teaching them or are they learning the material without really knowing why. I think this may be something that we as teachers take for granted. Just because we are doing our part in providing the correct strategies in the classroom this does not mean the students are learning the reasons for why we teach using our current methodology, an essential part for student learning (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009). This really does provide a reason to use the GAME plan as it does not just allow a path for learning but also provides a reason for learning the information. Currently, I strive to ensure the students know why we are learning the material, however, using the GAME plan will allow the students to take their learning into their own hands, identifying and reviewing their own goals throughout the class.

    I like the idea of having the students understand the standards the lesson focuses on as it provides a glimpse into why we teach a specific way or are focusing on specific content. Also, you make a good point that students must learn to “think about thinking” and the GAME plan will allow them a way to work on this strategy. This plan with the different facets will allow the students to learn how to critically think about the information they are learning, and learn how to use the information correctly thus making their own connections (National Education Standards for Students, 2007). It makes sense that if we provide them with a reason and some research based statistics that we will make the material and strategies more real for the students. Still it makes me wonder if even this discussion will help the students to care about the material or it might just be a waste of valuable classroom time. I think I may try this after Christmas break as it is a simple accommodation and see what kinds of results this may bring into the class.

    Randy
    HS Social Studies

    Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology Integration for Meaningful Classroom Use: A Standards-Based Approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

    National Education Standards for Students (NETS-S). (2007). retrieved December 12, 2010 from http://www.iste.org/standards/nets-for-students/nets-student-standards-2007.aspx

  4. I have been thinking about what my students really need from me and I have noticed that my teaching isn’t as transparent as it could be. Using the GAME plan is one way that I could build a bit more of that transparency into my curriculum. It would be just one element of my plan to help my students understand what learning is supposed to be taking place and what the structure behind that learning is. In my third year I have finally retaught my preps enought that I can begin to better anticipate what to expect from each unit and can finally be able to give students some stronger idea of what to expect from our learning. I have wanted to compile a system of packets or portfolios for each of my units and I have been thinking that those packets could integrate the GAME plan model into them in order to teach students not only what to learn, but how to learn it. I’ve always had the impression from your posts that you are already better at this instructional transparency than I am, but it sounds like you still feel as though you could improve in that area. GAME plan strategies could work for both of us I think.

Leave a Reply

 
