Provost English & Technology Blog

My P.E.T Project

Week 8: Final Blog Post

Posted by mprovost on December 26, 2010

Final Blog Post: Reflection

Throughout this course, I dedicated myself to a GAME plan supporting the development of technology goals within my classroom.  The focus of my GAME plan goals related to the NETS-T standards which target technology utilization and applications.  For my classroom, I undertook the goal of finding an online communication platform I could use with parents to replace my class NING.  Additionally, I chose to pursue learning Moodle as a communication site for students within my class.  As recommended by technology integrator Vicki Davis, I made sure to specifically allot time towards researching and taking action on these goals (Laureate Education, 2010). Each week I spent at least thirty to forty-five minutes either scheduling training, watching online tutorials, reading educator blogs, or simply just playing around; this type of self-directed learning keeps me on track making progress with my GAME plan goals.   What I found just as important as taking action on my goals was, much like I encourage my students to do during the writing process, make revisions based on new learning.

Interestingly, what I found to be the most valuable learning component of my GAME plan was better understanding the GAME plan process itself.  For example, as I revised my goals, I began to realize that it would be best to unify them into one and direct my efforts into finding one platform that would support both parent communication and serve as a student resource.  Regarding my goal itself, I am not actually close to launching a communication site. In fact, it is not for lack of finding viable options, but instead because I have come to realize that I need to make changes that are slow, but steady – I do not want to jump into creating an educational network unless I am positive it is the best choice as a support for my classroom teaching.   Although my students can revise their writing many times, I don’t have the same luxury when establishing an online presence; I want it to be a solid site with longevity, depth and value to my students, their parents, and myself.  I have learned to make progress on a GAME plan, while constantly being mindful of revisions, enhancements and embracing new directions; this mindset is valuable to all facets of my instructional practice.

Regarding technology integration in my classroom, there are some immediate changes that will take place.  For one, as I focus on my goals, I want to include my students and their parents in the process.  I now see the importance of including students in my goals; not only are they interested and likely to offer assistance, but they are a wealth of knowledge and ideas when it comes to technology and thinking outside of the box.  Involving students in creative thinking inspires high levels of engagement in the content and promotes deep learning (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009). Secondly, I am now more aware that technology integration in my classroom must be anchored by content, and not just used for the sake of being used; putting an intentional focus on goals, the process, and the product helps to ensure that I stay on track and won’t fall easy prey to the exponential amount of technology options out there. Being focused first on my curriculum, and secondly on the technology that would support instruction, allows me allows me to align my teaching goals while managing my priorities correctly.

Integrating technology within my content area is a necessity for 21st century learning. Additionally, being mindful of the process involved with establishing content-related goals and developing creative thinking skills will not only help me become a better language arts educator, but will provide a solid foundation for the learning within my classroom.

 

 

 

References

Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom        use: A standards-based approach.  (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont,            CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer). (2010). Program 1: Promoting self directed           learning with technology. [DVD]. Integrating technology across the content areas.           Baltimore, MD.

2 Responses to “Week 8: Final Blog Post”

  1. Excellent reflection here. I love how you want to include your students! Let them help select the network and “birth” it. There are so many great places. You might also rather use a wiki – parents could comment on the discussion tabs! Good luck and also thank you for quoting me there!

  2. […] Week 8: Final Blog Post « Provost English & Technology Blog […]

Leave a Reply

 
